Record 26 nations to compete in WBSC U-19 Women’s Softball World Championship in Clearwater

Friday, May 26, 2017 - 1:00pm to Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 6:00am

A record number of National Teams will compete in the 2017 WBSC Junior Women’s Softball Championship in Clearwater this year.

Twenty-six nations will take the global stage at the 12th WBSC Junior Women’s Softball World Championship in Clearwater, Florida, USA, from 24-30 July.

The highest competition for women’s youth softball will bring together the world’s top women’s softball nations from all five Olympic regions:
Africa (1): South Africa
Americas (10): No. 30 Argentina, Bahamas, No. 11 Brazil, No. 3 Canada, No. 24 Dominican Republic, No. 20 Guatemala, No. 10 Mexico, No. 21 Peru, No. 7 Puerto Rico, No. 2 United States,
Asia (6): No. 6 China, No. 9 Chinese Taipei, No. 36 India, No. 1 Japan, No. 26 Korea, No. 17 Philippines,
Europe (7): No. 13 Czech Republic, No. 14 Great Britain, No. 31 Ireland, No. 37 Israel, No. 12 Italy, No. 8 Netherlands, Turkey
Oceania (2): No. 4 Australia, No. 5 New Zealand

Turkey will be making their historic debut in the youth world championship.

As hosts, the United States is looking to defend their world title after capturing the title in 2015 by defeating world No. 1 Japan.